If you are convicted of a DWI and you are subsequently arrested for the same charge you will be facing harsher penalties for a second conviction within ten years. These stiffer penalties include mandatory minimum jail time for a second DWI and a one-year driver's license suspension. Out of state DWI convictions will affect your NY driving privileges.

I have helped dozens of individuals avoid harsh penalties and preserve their driving privileges. Is it easy? No, but it can be done. I know when to fight, when to negotiate, where to look for holes in the District Attorney's case against you, and can help you with:

Breath tests are not foolproof, nor are blood-alcohol content (BAC) tests. Mistakes can be made, both by arresting officers and by law enforcement personnel at the police station. If mistakes were made, we will find them and use them to your advantage.

A drinking and driving arrest can cause you to have a criminal record for the rest of your life — you don't want that. Nearly 100 percent of those arrested for DWI or DWAI could lose their licenses for at least a month, if not longer. Ever try to get around Long Island without a driver's license? It's not easy. Your job could be at stake; not to mention the effect on your social life and family life.

We can help you get a conditional license or hardship license that will allow you to drive to and from work, school, or court. Plus, we can help you get involved with AA and other treatment programs that will not only be beneficial to your overall well-being, but will look favorable in the eyes of the District Attorney as well as the judge.

Be sure and review our New York DWI & Traffic Violation FAQ.

Learn the answers to questions like: What Will A DWI Cost Me? What is the New York State Driver Assessment Fee? What Is Leandra’s Law?

DWI Penalties
Charge Penalty Incarceration Driver's License Suspension
First Offense DWI / DUI $500 min., $1,000 max., Interlock device up to one year 6 month min.
Second Offense DWI / DUI $1,000 min., $5,000 max., Interlock device Mandatory min. 5 days jail, or 30 days community service min., up to 4 years prison, 1 year min.
Third Offense DWI / DUI $2,000 min., $10,000 max., Interlock device Mandatory min. 10 days jail, or 60 days community service min., up to 7 years prison, 1 year min., alcohol evaluation